Skip to content

A Part of Me Dies

August 20, 2013

I fall asleep, I lash out in anger

I lose a home, become a stranger

to others and to myself

This can’t be a sign of good health

I lose a friend, a neighbour

caught up in an endless labour

Packing it all away,

possessions no longer my own

but alien and grey

things I seem to have out grown

On the other side I can lie and rest

amongst a pile of my own mess

waiting to be ordered and started up anew

with no unwanted residue

But still as I lie,

as I lie, waiting and wanting to cry

I realise a part of me forever has died.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

