Skip to content

Home and Free

December 25, 2013

Darkness engulfed the land

with my eyes I scanned

desolate scenery and decay

when appeared santa on his sleigh

on the horizon, a distant hope

a speck of light, riding the airs slopes

rubbing my eyes, frozen in shock

I tried to settle and take stock

is this real or a dream?

Is this my chance to redeem?

The speck of light soon passed by

I released a long and lonely sigh

On I plodded, looking for my haven

the place on my heart engraven

through the trees and snow I plowed

not frightened, nor cowed

just steady and stolid determination

incapable of self-extermination

the smoke of a distant fire

melted my stress to inspire

a rising pace, and focused mind

to my resting place soon find

amongst the trees, lay a small hut

out of the ground seemingly cut

the welcome there greeted me

home at last, eternally free.

From → Poetry, Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

