Skip to content

For Barbara, Lost Love

April 1, 2014

Feelings long repressed, a love cut short

no other object can I pursue, loves no sport.

My harsh words and judgments daily regretted

feelings and emotions needlessly upsetted.

Lost in a world that makes no sense

No finality, nor chance for recompense.

Over such small, insignificant concerns

I raised up indignant, while your heart burned.

you bared your soul to me,

for my prideful, judging eyes to see

I was ruthless, thoughtless, in judgement

blinkered by my begrudgements

No other object can there be for me,

for my affection, cut short by mutual decree.

I have your poems, letters and kind words,

I read them now, like I have only just heard.

An unrequited love so deep and profound,

proceeded in me without a sound.

Whilst the very same thing proceeded in you

And yet here I am, you are there, and I don’t know what I can do.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

