Skip to content

Accepting yourself

October 26, 2016

We all face many difficulties in life, one of my recurring problems is my inability or unwillingness to love myself, and to be happy and content with what I am. Yes it can drive me on to achieve certain things, but it also means I am rarely happy even when I have achieved them. I am always looking for the next step, always pushing on that bit further, when sometimes you need to just hold your ground and stay steady.

It applies as much to running and training to get fitter and faster as it does to other aspects of life, such as work, relationships, friendships. In all these areas there is only so much we can do, you cannot constantly push the envelope. You have to give yourself some time to breathe and savor the moment, and to be thankful for where you have got to in life. To just accept and love yourself for what you are at this point in time.

It never gets easy, and sometimes the road to accepting  and loving yourself may require some real painful self reflection on the limitations to what you can achieve and to what you are capable of. I often avoid facing that painful self reflection in favor of drinking, or indulging in fantasies or dwelling on nostalgia, or dwelling on ways I have been wronged by others in the past.

This is all counter productive and only makes the task of self reflection ever more pressing and ever more painful when it is finally forced upon you. It can all be made a whole lot easier when you are happy to love yourself for what you are, for then you embrace all aspects of your personality and accept all the limitations that come with them, all as one package.

This would be the scenario I’d like to attain, but I have a long way to go.

Comments are closed.

