Skip to content

Hopeless in Love

November 22, 2016

Why do I always fall for the unattainable girl,

the girl who has no returning feelings for me?

It leaves my feelings caught in a whirl

and leaves my soul lost at sea.

No sight of shore, just a vague ideal.

An attractive prize, but sadly not real.

Shipwrecked I become, like those tempted by the sirens

Hopelessly romantic like Keats, Shelley and Byron.

All my feelings out in the open air,

cut out of my bursting heart.

Captured by those who would like to ensnare

and tear my feelings apart.

I didn’t deserve this, I only cared

but still, I am the one who comes out scarred.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

