Skip to content

Alcohol and Demons

January 22, 2017

Slowly the alcohol destroys my will,

the joys of life become fading thrills.

This crooked endeavor brings diminishing returns.

My head grows numb and my fuming heart burns.

My frail nerves are shot, dead to this place.

Worn weak and thin, engorged in disgrace.

 

It’s not what I wanted, but it’s what I got

and a way out of this hell is hard to spot.

My agony intensifies to a bitter end,

then into wretchedness I plunge and descend.

The anti-climax of this whole ordeal,

is my self-same problems remain concealed.

 

I have not escaped, I have not progressed.

I have merely delayed, and merely digressed.

So the new day I must face, with strengthened will.

Resolve and determination, all my demons to kill.

5 Comments
  1. This is very passionate and deep- great poem friend

Leave a Reply

